Global Dashboard Permissions

You can simultaneously assign dashboard permissions to users of all the modules that have Unified Dashboard (UD) integrated with it.

Which permissions can be assigned to a role in Global dashboard permissions?

You can assign the following permissions:

- Create, edit, and delete own dashboards

- Edit dashboards created by other users

- Delete dashboards created by other users

- Print or download dashboards as reports

What happens when Global dashboard permissions conflict with module-specific dashboard permissions?

The Global dashboard permissions having a higher precedence over module-specific dashboard permissions (only for modules where UD is integrated) and hence it overrides the module-specific dashboard permissions.

What happens when multiple user roles are assigned to user with different Global Dashboard permissions?

When a user has multiple roles assigned, the role with highest set of Global Dashboard permissions gets implemented.

For example, if a user John is assigned 3 roles: Admin, Manager, and Reader for separate modules. The Global Dashboard permission for Admin role includes Create, Edit, and Delete your own dashboards, the Manager role has all the permissions assigned, and the Reader role has none of the permissions assigned. In this case, user John is assigned all the permissions of Global Dashboard as per the Manager role. As a result, if previously, user John had read-only permissions for a dashboard in a specific module, user John will now be able to create, edit and delete dashboard across all the modules where UD is integrated.

Tell me about the default Global dashboard permissions.

Depending on the permissions assigned to the role, the default global dashboard permissions are assigned for each role. A Manager (or user with full permissions and scopes) is assigned all the permissions whereas for a Unit Manager, the Dashboard permissions from VM/VMDR module are replicated. To view default permissions for each user role, see Assigned User Roles.